Skip to main content

Regional Cooperation Council (RCC) | ERI SEE

Regional Cooperation Council (RCC)

Following a wide consultation process with countries of South Eastern Europe in 2005 and 2006, the Stability Pact’s highest decision-making body – the Regional Table (consisting of representatives of South Eastern European governments, EU Member States, Norway, Switzerland, the US, the European Commission and the EU Presidency, the United Nations Interim Mission in Kosovo, OSCE, Council of Europe, OECD, World Bank, IMF and EBRD) – took far reaching decisions on the transformation of the Stability Pact of South Eastern Europe (STP) into a more regionally-owned, streamlined and effective regional co-operation framework in South Eastern Europe in Belgrade in May 2006. The main task of such a framework is to be a facilitator of regional co-operation and support the European and Euro-Atlantic integration, while ensuring continued involvement of the donor community, thus preserving the legacy of the Pact.

It was agreed that the streamlined Regional Co-operation Council (RCC) and its Secretariat should focus its activities on six areas which the countries of the region have already identified as those where regional co-operation will be beneficial to all: Economic and social development; Infrastructure; Justice and Home Affairs; Security Co-operation and Building Human Capital (BHC) with Parliamentary Co-operation being an overarching theme that is linked with each of the other areas.

According to the decision of the Regional Table meeting of the STP in November 2006 in Bukarest the ERI SEE structure is to take over the education component of Building Human Capital and stressed the need to strengthen co-operation in research.

Longterm regional cooperation in Europe - Nordic cooperation



There are no upcoming events.

Color coded legend

Institutional partners





Task force fostering and building human capital